Faith and Endurance: Running the Race

Creating Dreams. Achieving Goals. Trusting God

A Biblical Perspective June 4, 2010

Filed under: Achieving Goals — jenniferburton @ 4:54 pm

Yesterday, I did not get to run. At first I was a little disappointed in myself, however, considering I did run the previous three days, I remembered that I need to rest a day or two during the week. Our bodies do need some time to rest and recover. If we do not allow any rest time, it is easy to hurt ourselves, get burned out, and draw ourselves away from working out, no matter what you are doing. I think this is important, at least for people who are beginners. Once you make a habit and want to do something every day, go for it. But please be careful.

Maintaining a good health is so vital to our everyday lives. For those who may not know it, it is also a Biblical concept to stay healthy. God tells us our bodies are our temples, in which they are. Also, God gave us our bodies to take care of them. They don’t belong to us. They belong to Him, He who created them (us). We all have grown up, learning to take special care of things that do not belong to us, right? If we break it, we have to pay for it. Don’t you think God holds us to that same accountability?

I have a women’s study Bible my husband gave to me for Christmas. I found a little passage inside of it, discussing healthy living, and I would like to share this with you. It makes some really great points and references Bible verses that maybe you should read and study for yourself. There are 6 steps involved. I, myself, have written these down and recited them to myself as a reminder of what I can do and who I am supposed to be. Here they are…

1. BE ACCEPTING. God designed your physical make-up. Refrain from criticizing His creation (Ps. 139:13-16)

2. BE GRATEFUL. God has given you a triumphal new nature at your conversion. You are admonished to give thanks to God who gives you victory in the Lord Jesus Christ (1 Cor. 15:57).

3. BE CAREFUL. The Bible, speaking for moderation and against gluttony, condemns over-indulgence (Prov. 23:20-21). Resist extra helpings and rich foods that add additional inches.

4. BE DISCIPLINED. Achieving temperance in eating will strengthen other areas in your life. Paul proclaimed that although all things were lawful for him, he refused to be brought under the power of any (1 Cor. 10:23) because all things were not helpful to him (1 Cor. 6:12).

5. BE ACTIVE. Regular exercise will help you to reach and maintain your ideal weight. Activity also improves productivity, cardiovascular stamina, and mental alertness. The writer of Hebrews encourages believers to run with endurance (Heb. 12:1; see also 1 Tim. 4:8).

6. BE PERSISTENT. Just as Paul finished the race (2 Tim. 4:7), you, too, can persevere if you set a goal and move forward victoriously to achieve it!

These are the 6 steps I have to take for myself, and are very helpful and enlightening to me. I hope they help you out as well. As a woman, probably the hardest for me to get over is criticizing myself. Everyone is their own worst critic, however, when it comes to looks, women are the worst even at that. Criticizing yourself will not help your confidence. It’s okay to be confident!

I ask you as a reader to hold me accountable not to criticize myself, as you have to make a promise not to do it to yourself. We would not want to criticize any other of God’s creations! You are part of His creation, and don’t you forget that! 🙂


 

Leave a Reply

