Faith and Endurance: Running the Race

Creating Dreams. Achieving Goals. Trusting God

Persistence is Key; Water is Essential June 7, 2010

Filed under: Achieving Goals — jenniferburton @ 8:09 am

Well….I haven’t run in the last few days. I’ve had a busy weekend and couldn’t dodge the nearly unpredictable rain. However, it is probably no excuse for me to not have run at some point during the day. The rain only happened during through a small duration of the day. Missing Thursday and Friday was pretty understandable because the schedule and rain that happened couldn’t be avoided. However, Saturday and Sunday…I really had no excuse.

It is important that we remain persistent. It is always hard to start out, but once you get going, it’ll get easier, then you’re ready to set new challenges for yourself. I like to compare it to writing a paper. I’ve always hated writing papers for school. I felt I was never really good at it, and it was always so difficult for me to come up with the opening paragraph, or thesis statement, if you call it. But, once I was able to get started on a paper, it was almost hard for me to stop because the ideas would just keep coming. With working out, you have to build up a habit, get your body used to it, and next thing you know, it does become a habit, and sort of a good addiction. It may take some people a little longer than others to build that up, probably depending on your personal state of health. If you’re not persistent, it’s always going to seem more difficult every time you work out, and you’ll get tired of it quickly. I think the biggest thing is to start out eating healthier, then working out will be a little easier starting out.

Yes….eating healthier. It really does make a difference in how you perform in your exercise. Have you ever noticed how you feel when you eat healthy vs. unhealthy before doing a strenuous workout, exercise or activity? I can. It makes a HUGE difference in my  book. One of the other biggest things is to make sure you drink plenty of water. Most would say to drink as many ounces a day that makes up half your body weight. For some of us, that can be a LOT of water! I personally have a 64 ounce mug that I drink out of everyday. It helps me keep track of how much water I drink. I make it a daily goal to drink at LEAST that much. Am I always successful? No, but I do try. Everyone needs to drink at least 64 ounces a day. Once you start trying it, and you go a day hardly drinking water, you begin to feel your body question you and feel dehydrated because your body was used to taking in that much. Drink a lot of water, and your body will crave more water.

Why is water so important? Well, common knowledge tells us that 70% of our bodies are made up of water, it does help with weight loss because it does help curb your hunger. (On a side note: Sometimes you may think you’re hungry, but you really need water. Sometimes your body can make your mind confuse thirst with hunger). But also, did you know that drinking more water will help rid of toxins in your body? It helps to keep your insides cleaner and it can help keep you regular, if you know what I mean. Also, water is made of of 2 parts hydrogen and 1 part oxygen. OXYGEN….we have to have that to breathe, right? Adding oxygen to our bodies will also help us perform better in exercise activities. I was recently talking with a friend and told her that I could tell a difference if I ever drank a carbonated drink (which adds carbon dioxide to our bodies) before a workout and water before a workout. Again…HUGE DIFFERENCE in performance. If you’re not taking in the proper amount of water, your body will be like a car engine and can overheat and make you sick. I really don’t drink sodas anymore. If you cut that out alone (if you drink 1 regular soda on a daily basis) you will decrease your calorie intake by 3,500 per week. Remember how many calories you need to burn to lose 1 pound? That’s right…3,500. Amazing isn’t it?

So, the biggest things are, start off by eating healthier (plenty of fruits and veggies, the right amount of protein and carbs), drink plenty of water, and see your performance difference in your workout routine.  You’ll notice you’ll have more energy and stamina when you are putting the proper nutrients into your system. I would recommend by doing some of your own research on foods and their health benefits to help suit you best. Don’t be afraid to experiment to find out what you like or don’t like. I’ve been doing this for 8 years now, so it does take some time to learn over the years. Research, trial, and error is what it takes. Don’t be afraid of it. It’s how we learn best.

 

Leave a Reply

