Faith and Endurance: Running the Race

Creating Dreams. Achieving Goals. Trusting God

On a Personal Matter… June 8, 2010

Filed under: Achieving Goals — jenniferburton @ 6:22 pm

Fatigue…probably one of the worst things a person can come across when trying to get into good physical shape. How do we overcome it? I know that, as far as eating and drinking water, I’m pretty much going by the book. However, today I recognized the fact that I am overdue for blood work, been out of iron pills and thyroid medicine. So, I decided to take some action. I was able to get in to the doctor today for all of that. I will know my blood test results on Thursday. I was fortunate to get my iron prescription refilled.  I guess I wanted to see if I could go without them, but that may not be the case.

Low iron is something that I have suffered from since I was an infant. Strangely enough, I was never diagnosed as anemic. Maybe I’m borderline. What ever the case may be, I have to take the pills to keep my blood count up and keep my body functioning regularly. I decided to hold off on the thyroid because I wanted to see what the blood test results have to say about that this time around. I guess I would like to get a second doctor’s opinion. With this being my first visit with this particular doctor I was seeing today, she seemed pretty open to it, which was cool. She seems like a good listener of her patients.  I have been going to Long Hollow Family Practice for years. I’ve never really been disappointed with any of the physicians I’ve seen when I can’t see my regular doctor.

On another note, I was given a gift certificate a while back for a free month at Curves. I decided to call and make an appointment today. I thought..why not..it’s free! Can’t go wrong with that, especially when you’re B-R-O-K-E. Even with a 5K training program, it is important to mix in some cross training to make sure you are working all your muscle groups each week. Your body won’t get used to everything, and you won’t get as bored with the work outs because you are changing it up every other day. The couch to 5K program is specifically designed to give you a work out 3 times a week, which would make me assume to do that every other day. So…cross training on off-running days. It still helps with cardio, and you are mixing in weight training along with it.

Anyway, at Curves, I sat and talked with a trainer. She was telling me about the program and the LIFESTYLE (great word) plan for women trying to lose weight and become healthier. They have a 30 day eating plan, which is makes total sense, and they have this program called Curve Smart, which pushes you to your maximum ability. They have the latest state of the art equipment to use, which is designed to work you out on your personal ability (no changing weights!). It all seems so pretty cool. Also, they are running a special where Tuesdays are free for working out. I think you should check it out. This is the one in Hendersonville. The one in Goodlettsville is doing the same thing from my understanding.

Of course when you sign up for places like that, they have to have information…weight, measurements, and all that. They also took my BMI and something else, which I think had to do more with fat percentage. She said that my BMI was not to far off, which was good. However, the other thing was between “poor” and “very poor”. Boy, did that depress me….yet it made me more determined. I know I can do this. I don’t have a choice. My health is on the line!

After coming home from all my errands, I wasn’t sure what I was going to do as far as a work out. I wanted to run, but my body wasn’t up to it. I was pretty frustrated because I was tired. I always want to wait until my energy is at full capacity so I can feel like I can get the most out of my work out. The problem is, I’m kind of wrong to do that. Instead of a run (saving that for tomorrow) I decided to go for a brisk walk. At least I did something, and I’m not skipping any days. I also told myself not to get discouraged because my work out today wasn’t as vigorous as yesterday’s. Sometimes we have off days, and that’s okay. Do what you can, and move on. Don’t let that weigh you down. I’m also wrong in waiting. I need to be more disciplined in going ahead and getting it done..don’t wait around. If you sit and wait (doing nothing) that’s only going to make you more tired. If you feel like you’re too tired to do anything, get up and move around. Start some laundry or cleaning, or get outside and do something. It can wake you up. Sometime, your brain and body just need a little stimulation to get you going. Or…just force yourself to walk, and after a while during your walk, you will begin to feel your energy build. When you are finished, you will feel more energized. That’s what happened to me today. I feel better after my walk, and was so glad I didn’t skip it.

Remember, that it is usually tougher when you are first starting out, but don’t let that hold you back. You have a goal set in mind..hold yourself accountable in reaching that goal. YOU CAN DO IT!!! Don’t EVER give up! 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

