Faith and Endurance: Running the Race

Creating Dreams. Achieving Goals. Trusting God

Being Honest with Myself June 9, 2010

Filed under: Achieving Goals — jenniferburton @ 6:03 pm

Ok, so maybe I haven’t been completely honest with everything. As far as eating everything by the book..well..I’m not really. I eat healthy things, but there are a couple of particular things I eat just a little too much of. Crackers, mainly, and sometimes bread. There. I said it. I love bread, and it’s so hard to stay away from it. I realized how much more calories I probably take in a day when I snack on some crackers or the occasional slice of bread. And, if you dip them in anything or add to it, think about how much MORE calories you are probably taking in. So. what should I do? The answer is…portion control. I love to snack, and I do like to eat, but I have got to watch my portions! I think this is probably one of the most common evils among EVERYONE, unless you’re in a 3rd world country. Americans love to eat, and they love to eat a LOT!

So..what am I going to do about it? I am going to make a point to start writing a food journal. Yes, it’s a little extra work, but I have the time, and it will most likely be worth it. It’s like keeping up with a check book. You don’t really realize how much you’re spending unless you write it down. Your memory can deceive you at times. It does me. Fortunately, I also have a kitchen scale that I bought not too long ago. I will be getting this sucker back out to properly weigh my food, to get the portion sizes I need. If you were to see what the serving sizes were for some of the foods you ate, you’d be in total shock! It is important to weigh out your food and watch your portions. That way, if you do want to cheat a little, get the right serving size, and you can track exactly how many calories you’ve taken in. I know that when it comes to meats, most serving sizes are anywhere from 3-4 oz, usually depending on the meat. White meats will have more leniency than red meats. Red meat, such, as venison would be an exception to that, and possibly buffalo meat. veggies and fruit are usually at 4 oz. per serving. If you were to look at the food guide pyramid and measured everything out, you might get a better idea if you’re getting exactly what you need. I know that I would. If you are a person on the go, then prepare your meals ahead of time…preportion them and have them ready to go for the next day.

There’s another thing that is so important when it comes to food consumption and grocery shopping. You have got to read your labels. It has become a habit for me to read labels of almost everything I pick up, until I have it memorized. Grocery shopping is a little habitual for me anyway because I get mostly the same things. However, PLEASE read your labels! Take note of calories, fat grams, saturated fats, sugar, carbs, and sodium. Try to consume as little of MSG as possible. Stay away from anything that ends in “ose”, such as fructose. Stay away from hydrogenated oils. If sugar, salt, syrup of any kind, and if it says “enriched” stay away from it if you can. I know that some of this is hard to avoid, but at least try to ween yourself from it. Your grocery bill may be a little higher, but I’ve always said that it’s cheaper than medical bills in the long run. There are ways of shopping cheap, and eating healthy at the same time. Oh, yes..the microwave is not that great to use either. Food can be chemically altered, nutritionally, depending on how it’s cooked. Potatoes, for instance, have different nutritional value, just between being baked and mashed. One is better than the other…however, at the moment I can’t remember which, but look it up.

Anyway, so please be very conscious of your intake and what you buy at the store. Read your labels, and it can help to keep a journal and portion your food. That’s what I’m going to have to do, so that I may properly track my calories. Are you with me? 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

