Faith and Endurance: Running the Race

Creating Dreams. Achieving Goals. Trusting God

Just. Breathe. June 10, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — jenniferburton @ 3:17 pm

Breathing has got to be one of the most essential aspects of working out. Not only is it important to breathe, it’s important to breathe correctly. When you are doing strength training exercises, you need to inhale while drawing back or relaxing and exhale while you push or pull, what ever the exercise you may be doing.  If you do not breathe correctly, you may easily hurt yourself.

Running also requires steady breathing. You need to control and pace your breathing. If you do not, you will get light-headed and pass out due to the loss of oxygen to your body. When you control your breathing, it helps with your lung endurance, and keeps your heart rate steady. It also will help build your stamina. Controlling your breathing is not easy starting off.

When you begin with running, you need to count your steps while you breathe (at least that’s what I do because it’s easy). I inhale through my nose 4 steps and exhale out my mouth 4 steps. It’s not easy to stay on 4-4. If I feel I need to shorten it, I do 3 and 3, but I will NEVER go less than 2 and 2 when it’s absolutely necessary. If you are breathing that heavily, you need to slow down, otherwise you just might meet the ground soon, and we don’t want any injuries.

With breathing it is important to inhale through your nose and exhale through your mouth. This is has been a struggle with me in the past, but you do not dehydrate as easily if you do this. Also, if I don’t do this I realize I end up coughing a lot after my work out and my voice is out of whack, and that’s no fun. So, yes this is something that I am currently working on, and I can already tell the difference in how affective it is ,than the way I was breathing. I last much longer in my work out. One thing that might help is if you practice taking in some deep breaths while sitting to exercise your lungs a little. In through your nose, and out through your mouth. Use a clock, and inhale/exhale every 4 seconds, and see how that works.

Some people may breathe correctly naturally, and that’s great! I wish I could, but I have to work on it. Oh, well…another learning experience for me! 🙂

Oh yes..one more thing…if you are working out outside, please wear sunscreen. I do every day. 😉

 

Leave a Reply

