Faith and Endurance: Running the Race

Creating Dreams. Achieving Goals. Trusting God

Making Progress! June 16, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — jenniferburton @ 12:52 pm

I am making progress! Since I have started blogging, I have dropped about 3 pounds. I am currently on Week 2 of the Couch to 5K program and also in my 2nd week of Curves training. I have decided to join Curves and the Curves Smart program because it really is a neat thing! It is personalized to your body and your needs. It’s amazing! I am feeling really good, and I am constantly just a hair sore in various places, so I’m getting a good work out every day. Jonathan, my husband, has even mentioned he’s already noticing slight differences in my shape already.

Recently I had mentioned about my energy levels being low and not sleeping well throughout the night. I got a call from my doctor the other day and found out that my Vitamin D was low. So, in response, she prescribed prescription strength Vitamin D supplements that I have to take once a week for 3 months, and then I have to go back to check my levels again. I took my Vitamin D for the first time yesterday, and last night was the first time I was able to sleep solid in a while. It was amazing. I still need to feel it out for the week to notice a significant difference, but so far, things are looking really good. I’m also back on multivitamins to make sure I get everything I need each day for maximum performance.

Also, I had to go to the grocery store yesterday, and just to let you know, Kroger is having some awesome sales on their fresh produce right now! Cucumbers and 1lb. bags of baby carrots are on sale for 10/$10!!! Bananas are $0.39 p/lb. The majority of their produce is on sale, so I would take advantage of that before it’s done! I saved nearly $30 on groceries yesterday!

On another note, I am really having to make a conscious effort to make sure I drink at least 64 ounces of water. It’s harder to do when I’m busy, mainly because I just don’t think about it. So, that is something I am still working on to be consistent with. I have been much better recently, though. Another thing I am struggling with, as I am making my food journal on sparkpeople.com, is that how do I get all the veggies and fruit, along with the carbs, protein and fat grams per day without going over my calories?? That’s a tough one. If you have any suggestions, please share! If I stay on the lower side of my calories, I don’t get  enough fat or carbs for the day, but if I within range of what I need in fat, protein, and carbs, I’m on the higher end of calories or go over. I’m trying to stay as close to 1200 each day, but the last few days I’ve been eating over 1500, but I’ve met my individual nutritional goals set out for me by the website. If you have more sparkpeople experience or more knowledgeable about balancing this out, please comment and let me know. I am all about learning health tips.

Anyway, all in all, I am pretty much on the right track. Week 2, and I am being persistent, and results are already beginning to show. My stress levels have dropped drastically as well. Also, if you have a testimony or story you would like to share with me…please do!!! I love to hear about these things because it is encouragement and motivation for me! God is awesome, and we are certainly blessed! 🙂

 

3 Responses to “Making Progress!”

  1. Justin Says:

    Keep up the good work! It’s all worth it in the end! You can do it!

  2. Lily Old Says:

    Hey girl!
    Just wanted to let you know about Herbal Life if you haven’t heard about it. My mom is in a weight loss program up in Springfield and its taught her a lot. The teacher sells Herbal Life products because they are great! They have a line of protein shakes that I love and they are probably the best I have ever tried. Basically really high in protein, but not in fat. And they stay on my stomach really well. I have found that a lot of other shakes kind of upset my stomach, but these don’t. So I thought you might want to check them out. Let me know and I can ask my mom for more info. if your interested. They have a ton of other stuff that has helped my mom loose about 25lbs so far 🙂


Leave a Reply

