Faith and Endurance: Running the Race

Creating Dreams. Achieving Goals. Trusting God

A Need for Courage June 18, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — jenniferburton @ 6:05 pm

Today I have officially finished 2 weeks of 5K training, using the Couch to 5K program. What an accomplishment that is. Along with that, I have also completed 2 weeks of working out at Curves. I think my body has a mixture of thanking and cursing me at the same time. I am proud of myself of what I have been able to accomplish these last two weeks. But, the truth is, it’s only the beginning. It will be a challenge on the road ahead.

Part of that challenge will begin next week, as I will take on the third week of the Couch to 5K program. I’ll be honest with you. I am scared to death…very nervous. I felt I was pushing hard with alternating running for 90 seconds, then walking for 2 minutes. Parts of me wasn’t sure if I would make it through the work out every time or not, but I did make it! Next week will begin alternating running for 90 seconds, walking for 90 seconds, running for 3 minutes, and walking for 3 minutes. 3 MINUTES?! What happened to 2 minutes???? Yeah, that’s the part I’m scared about. Can I make it through? 90 seconds felt as though it was tough enough to get through! Remember, I have hills in my neighborhood! Not huge ones, but enough to present a challenge!

Have you ever been in an argument with yourself in the middle of your work out? “I don’t know if I can do this!” “You CAN do this, and you WILL!” “You’re not pushing yourself hard enough!” “I don’t know if I can hold out any longer!” Yeah, I’ve had that argument with myself all too often, and even today, thinking about next week. Even today, in my Curves workout, I was having a little bit of a hard time. I was tired. I have to think to myself that I am pushing myself just hard enough to keep it challenging.

I know that I am working toward a better body and a better lifestyle, and it’s going to take some challenges and some hard work to get there. That’s what makes it so worth it in the end. Part of me thinks it’s too hard and I want to quit, but the bigger part of me tells me to shut up and stay on track. I am solely relying on God for strength and endurance to get through this. He is my biggest motivator to be the best me, and who He wants me to be. I know He is my biggest cheerleader, and that is what matters most. I pray that I can make it through next week with the 3 minute run. I’m still nervous, but I at least have to try.

 

One Response to “A Need for Courage”

  1. Jamie Says:

    Yes….I argue with myself while I am out there walking the miles. Should heard my conversation in the marathon, you would have been laughing. But remember to put one foot in front of the other, and push through it. You can do it!!!!


Leave a Reply

