Faith and Endurance: Running the Race

Creating Dreams. Achieving Goals. Trusting God

Frustrations Galore! July 17, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — jenniferburton @ 11:25 am

Yeah…frustration has set in. This has been a very crazy week, completely throwing off my running schedule and I gain a couple of pounds throughout the week. What the crap is that about? I have only run once this week. I need to try to run today, and try to fit in tomorrow so that I complete week 6. Honestly, I’m a bit nervous because it’s been 3 days since my last run. Not sure if I’ll make it. I did work out to Jillian twice, trying to add in something extra a different to help me tone and burn fat. I only worked out at Curves once because I have been out of a car for 3 days, and I just started Physical Therapy on my ankle. Fortunately, I can still run on it. I just don’t have its full range of motion. I’m not sure how the PT will affect my running.

As far as gaining weight, Even though my schedule has been thrown off, I still have managed to exceed my exercise goals in minutes and calories burned. Maybe it’s water retention. Maybe I need to drink more than 64 ounces a day, since I am working out about 4-5 days a week, or equivalent to. I am staying within calorie range, according to sparkpeople.com. This is just a frustrating time for me right now. This has hindered my motivation to try to run today, and the weather is perfect for it right now. Cloudy and cool. I just need to go out there and just do it. Hopefully next week will be a better week. How common is it that other people go through this same thing? I work so hard to lose 6 pounds in 5-6 weeks, then I gain 3 back in 1 week. WHY?! It also didn’t help with the fact that working out with Jillian 2 days in a row left me miserably sore for a few days. I need to work out with her more so that soreness can subside and get the muscle toning I need, but it’s hard to stick with something that nearly kills you. I wish I had the money to join the Y and do Zumba again. That is my favorite work out of all time. When I have done that before, it has helped with my running endurance (granted at the time it was on a treadmill), but I was able to run up to 2.5 miles straight at one time. That was an accomplishment in itself during that time. That was also about 3 years ago, I think.

Hopefully soon, I can break past this barrier and continue to move on. I don’t want this to keep me from achieving my goals, but it seems so easy to give up when you’re not seeing the results you want, even though you seem to be doing everything right.

 

Leave a Reply

