Faith and Endurance: Running the Race

Creating Dreams. Achieving Goals. Trusting God

Back on Track July 27, 2010

Filed under: Achieving Goals — jenniferburton @ 11:57 am

Exercise and weight loss can be quite the battle, but well worth the effort in the end. It is so easy to find excuses to get yourself out of exercising a day or two or a reason to eat a something not healthy. I sort of had that mind set the last week or so. However, I was still trying to stay on track for the most part, but maybe I did slack off more than I realized.

I had gained 3 pounds in the last week or so and was totally disappointed. I wasn’t sure how that happened because I still was working out and exceeding my exercise goals, and staying within calorie range of food. Maybe I did gain some muscle? However, I was really letting it get to me. I was tempted to give up because I wasn’t seeing the results I wanted, and I was set back on my weight loss by a few pounds, making my goal date less realistic. I wasn’t sure what was going on with my body. I was drinking enough water every day. I was making sure I was eating the right foods, for the most part. There were a couple of times a slacked a little, but I knew it shouldn’t be enough to affect me that badly. I was getting depressed and worried.Will I ever get this excess weight off? Here I am, been working out 4-5 days a week for 7 weeks, and only lost 6 pounds, only to find I gained 3 back in a week’s time. What was wrong with me?

Everyone was telling me that I have to be gaining muscle and probably need to consume more water, especially with this heat and humidity we’ve all been battling. I would love to think that, but wishing the building muscle was more evident that I could tell just by looking in the mirror than by making a simple guess. I wasn’t too sure because my measurements hadn’t really changed all that much, which was another disappointment to me. How do I go about this?

I decided that I just need to keep going. The weight will eventually have to come back off again, and continue to come off right? My measurements will eventually change. I can’t give up. I’m fixing to begin week 7 on the c25K, and the program is only 9 weeks long. I’m too close to the end!! It’s almost like dropping out of high school 2 weeks before you graduate. How stupid would that be? I’m not a quitter!

Over this past weekend, I wasn’t sure what exactly would be in store. I decided to not worry about my weight so much and still watch what I ate. I ended up eating some bigger meals for breakfast, lunch, and dinner, but I didn’t eat any snacks in between. We had a busy day, so I think that made it okay for one day. Then Sunday was also a busy day. Dinner ended up being some snacky foods, such as popcorn because lunch held me over for so long and didn’t want to eat a heavy meal real late. I did run Saturday night, ending my Week 6. However, over the weekend, I went back down 3 pounds!! I was ecstatic. I didn’t know what triggered it, but I wasn’t going to argue.

So, now it’s Tuesday, and it has maintained, which is great. It has helped boost my confidence again, to know that I wasn’t really as “stuck” as I thought I was. Now if I can just continue to lose more and stay on track, I’ll be okay. I need to be patient and continue to push myself as well as listen to my body. I began week 7 today. I still can’t run a full 25 minutes, which is kind of a bummer, but I have decided I am going to continue out the program and try to improve my time each day I run. I know I’ll eventually get there. From here on out, it’s all solid runs, so I’m going to go for as long as I possibly can and sort of create my own intervals afterward to complete each day, and trying not to be a sissy about it.

I guess the important thing is, if you’re struggling, that means you need to continue to work at it that much more. Don’t you dare think about giving up at that time because it will pay off in a matter of time, and you’ll be so glad. Don’t let Satan tell you that you can’t do it because you really can. You can do anything through God’s strength!

 

Leave a Reply

