Faith and Endurance: Running the Race

Creating Dreams. Achieving Goals. Trusting God

God is in Control June 7, 2011

Filed under: Trusting God — jenniferburton @ 8:39 am

This past week has been a sad week, as most of you already know that Jon and I lost our first child recently. I was supposed to be 7-8 weeks along, and the baby stopped developing at almost 6 weeks. This has been a painful experience. We’ve been blessed with supportive and loving family and friends to help us get through this. 

Something very interesting came across to me in my daily devotional (Beth Moore’s “Breaking Free”). I was catching up because I managed to get behind. This devotion was dated on June 2, which was the day Jon and I lost our precious baby. Here it is…

“I will certainly bring health and healing to it and will indeed heal them.” -Jeremiah 33:6.

Beth Moore goes on to say:

“Nothing could be more natural than a mother grieving the loss of a child. If ten years later, however, the mother is completely consumed with the loss and bitterness that have eclipsed all comfort and healing, she has wedged a stronghold between appropriate grief and gradual restoration.

“The enemy will capitalize on normal emotions of love or loss to swell them out of healthy proportion. They can consume our lives if we’re not aware of his schemes. No, grieving is never sin. But disallowing God to minister comfort and healing to you over the passage of time is.”

I just thought this was crazy that this verse and this topic was administered on the very same day we lost our child. God has spoken to me through these words. I love it when He does that, when I actually sit and listen quietly, what He will tell me. I hope you all take the time to do the same…to sit and just listen quietly.

Thank you Jesus for giving us confirmation that You have complete control and reassuring us that Your plan is perfect. It is difficult to go through something like this, but I know You are the Great Healer and our King. You know what is best. Your plan is always perfect. Thank you for comfort and affirmation. Amen.

 

One Response to “God is in Control”

  1. Becky (from sparkpeople() Says:

    I’m so glad that he spoke those words into your life at that moment. Isn’t it crazy how God manages to encourage us from the places we least expect it?


Leave a Reply

