Faith and Endurance: Running the Race

Creating Dreams. Achieving Goals. Trusting God

New Life Within October 5, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — jenniferburton @ 9:04 pm

I would like to start off by saying…God is good! Amen? It has been quite a summer and beginning school year. So much more has happened in the last few month, but I am now at a moment to where I feel at peace about everything. 

As you all know, my husband and I suffered the loss of our first unborn child earlier this summer. With me losing my job and then starting graduate school, it was a lot to take on. As time passed, we had a moment of healing and prayer. I am so thankful for all the friends and family who supported us during this hard time. I was very much stressed and losing some of my faith. I was heartbroken and becoming depressed. Just when I thought time was running out, the Lord blessed me with a job.

This new teaching job I knew would be a challenge, teaching 3 grade levels in 4 subjects, but I was willing to give it a shot. During that first month of school, we found out we were expecting again. We were so excited! As time went on during the school year, the job was becoming too much to handle and was lacking the proper support I felt I needed. The stress was becoming so great that I was fearing for my baby’s health as well as my own. It was then I decided to resign and wait for something else to come along. This was a huge leap of faith because we really couldn’t afford to live off one income, especially with a baby on the way. Right before I resigned, Jon’s car broke down. We now have one working vehicle.

Since I resigned, my stress has decreased significantly. It has helped me to stay home with the nausea and the exhaustion. I’m able to get the rest I felt I needed..maybe a little too much. However, even though I currently am unemployed and we have one car, it’s working out so far. I’m not sure what the future holds for us, but that’s where I have to keep the faith. God knows our situation and knows exactly what we need when we need it. I plan to take this time to be in continuous prayer for the “next step” and try to follow God’s plan.  

So far, our baby is still alive and well, as I was sick this morning to prove it, and we will have my first prenatal appointment tomorrow. We are very excited. This is more important to me right now than a job. Yes, a job would be nice for a little more financial security, and so that we can get another car, but right now, I am not that worried about it. I will say that I am so glad that I still have such strong support from my friends and family, no matter my circumstance. God has a plan for me, as for everyone else. It is up to us whether or not we follow that plan. The plan may not always be pretty…we learn from the harder times…but looking at the bigger picture, we know it is the best. It is what helps us become who we are and who we are in Christ. If it weren’t for the hard times, there would be no testimonies of faith and trust…we wouldn’t need God.  It’s amazing to see how He uses circumstances to pull everything together. Every decision we make affects the next one, and others involved. We need to always be conscious and aware of how we live our lives each day. We need to be sure we are living in a way that pleases God, our King. 

 

Leave a Reply

