Faith and Endurance: Running the Race

Creating Dreams. Achieving Goals. Trusting God

100 to 30- New Journey, New Goal January 4, 2013

Filed under: Fighting for 100 — jenniferburton @ 2:52 pm
Tags: , , ,

I have a problem. A huge problem. I have completely lost my will power. I thought I was ready to lose weight again in the past, but the truth is I wasn’t. I wasn’t doing much to truly hold myself accountable. Now I’m trying a new start in the new year. I want to do 2013 right. On January 30 this year, I will turn 29. My last year in the 20’s. I have begun dreading turning 30 because I loved my 20’s so much. I have decided that I needed to spend this year, leaving my twenties and entering my thirties with a bang. I need to get rid of this weight that I promised myself I would never take on again. I need to lose at least 100 pounds by my 30th birthday.

Obviously I broke that promise. I haven’t weighed this much since my senior year in high school. I have lost 80-90 pounds in 10 months before. Surely I can do it again. I know it’s going to be much tougher. As I returned home from being out of town, I was faced with so much temptation and overwhelmed by the holiday aftermath. I’m still working on it. I was gifted a lot of chocolate and there are leftovers in the freezer waiting to be consumed. I just know I need to find ways to be creative in preparing these leftovers and chocolate without overdoing it. I can’t afford to let it go to waste.

One of the changes I knew I needed to make was to eat cleaner. I will have to do the best I can with what I have. I am attempting to start making my own wheat bread to use for sandwiches, so that it saves money as well as maintain health. I know what goes in it. 

The second change..well..a habit I am trying to develop, as well as my first goal. I want to start by waking up at 5/5:30 am to work out because that is just the best time of the day. I have The Biggest Loser on Kinect, so I have something. My first goal is to maintain this on a 3 day a week schedule and walk at least 30 minutes every day. So that means 3 days out of the week, I get in 2 workouts. 

I am also hoping to renew my membership at FBC next door. They do not have childcare, so I will need to go first thing in the morning before my husband leaves for work. It is the cheapest solution, and I do much better in the gym than any place else. 

I also want to continue to find ways to eat healthy on a budget. It’s not the easiest thing to do, as coupons for fresh produce are hard to come by. Right now we have a plethora of canned goods that Jon and I will need to use up because it will help us save money, and surely it won’t kill us to eat on the canned veggies and fruits. Hopefully by the time we reach the end of it, we can buy frozen vegetables. Fresh is my favorite, but it is more costly, until summer when most produce is in season. 

I have also slacked off on the amount of water I drank throughout the day. I need to change that now, and I am working on it, as well as reducing the amount of coffee I drink and replacing it with healthy hot teas. Thank goodness for the Teavana collection I’ve had for a while. 

These are my goals. So, how successful have I been since I’ve been home?

Well…it hasn’t been easy. I did go over my calories yesterday. Not my too much I don’t think. But enough to not try to do it again. In the winter, it’s hard not to crave and want creamy, cheesy, bready comfort foods. Plus, with me being home all day with the baby, I’m surrounded by it. I try to keep my mind off of it with house work, but that’s not easy either. It’s the fact I know it’s there, and it’s easily accessible. But, that is a demon I must conquer and gain control. 

Today has been better, somewhat. It’s Jon’s birthday, so I did cook him a breakfast, which was organic buckwheat waffles and turkey sausage. It was a little high in calories, but overall a healthy breakfast. I used little syrup. I usually don’t like that much syrup anyway, thank goodness. This is also day 2 of NO COFFEE! I have done well. I’m proud of myself on that. My mom came by to take me out, and we did end up eating lunch at Casa Vieja. I ate only a few chips while waiting on my food, which is another accomplishment, and I ordered one of the healthiest items on the menu, authentic tacos. It was grilled chicken, cilantro, onion, and avocado on a corn tortilla. No cheese. Yeah, that’s another thing I’m working on. reducing my dairy intake. 

So, overall these are my goals. i need to lose 100 pounds by my 30th birthday. I need to make lifestyle changes..again. I’ve done this before, I can do it again. It’ll be a slow start, but I will build my endurance and agility again, as long as I remain persistent. So, here is the beginning of the rest of my life…

Image

 

One Response to “100 to 30- New Journey, New Goal”

  1. Judi Gore Lawrence Says:

    Jennifer , I am your mother in laws life long friend Judi Gore..I am proud of you for realizing what you need to do and cheering you on from here in Panama City Fl. I have been on a diet all of my life and it is all so hard but you can…and I can too..God Bless


Leave a Reply

