Faith and Endurance: Running the Race

Creating Dreams. Achieving Goals. Trusting God

Week 1: Day 1 January 7, 2013

Filed under: Fighting for 100 — jenniferburton @ 8:32 pm
Tags: , , ,

Today was an overall productive day, especially being DAY 1. I managed to get myself out of bed between 5:00 and 5:30. I had set my phone to the most annoying alarm I could find so I would quit hitting the snooze at some point. I began with my Melaleuca Access bar to aid in my work out. I did The Biggest Loser on Kinect and burned over 100 Calories. I did a challenge and the a 20 minute Pilates session. Afterward I was having trouble with the settings of the game, so that is something I’ll need to continue to try to fix. I hope it doesn’t give me problems tomorrow as I make an attempt to work out again in the morning. 

I was able to get a lot of laundry done, most of what was left over from when we were in KY for several days, visiting family. So, I was glad to be productive around the house. I actually had a good amount of energy, and I felt great after my morning work out. I also managed to get in a 41 minute brisk walk, with Micah in the stroller. It actually ended up being my best time. I have no idea how I ended up going that fast. We’ll see if/when I can match that and do better in the near future. I was quite proud of myself. 

So, as far as energy I did pretty well. I did hit a little slump in the early afternoon, wanting to nap, but I managed through. My biggest issue today was my hunger and food cravings. I’m trying so hard to control them. I am trying to eat smaller meals and snack between each meal, with a healthy snack. But, I HAD to have lunch at 10:50 today because I was just starving for some reason. I held off as long as I could. But I wasn’t really hungry until much later after that, which I was surprised as well as grateful. I ate a mix of raw almonds and dried cranberries before my walk and ate an apple sometime afterwards, before fixing dinner. Jon and I are still working on Christmas leftovers in the freezer. I am trying to be smart about it, being careful to consume only so much at a time and not go over my calories. Tonight I baked a couple of small chicken breasts and reheated some leftover mashed potatoes (no butter). It turned out to be pretty good. At the end of the day, I’m still in my calorie range!

Going through the motions of the day, I had many cravings for various things. I realize it is seemingly much harder to control your food intake being a SAHM than if you were working. The food is easily and readily available for any time. I am working hard to control those cravings and “hunger”. I have been able to successfully increase my water intake to help with that. But sometimes..I’m just hungry.

The hardest part about most of anything is getting started. And that is the point where I am currently, in the beginning. I’m at the hardest part. I know once my momentum gets going, it’ll become part of my lifestyle again…go back to my old self. I can’t wait for that. But I know in order to succeed, to achieve your goals, you have to earn them. There is no magic pill. I have to work hard to undo the damage I have done to myself. I would say I’m off to a good start so far. I’m trying not to do too much at once to where I get burned out, but at the same time make significant progress to get myself on the right track right away. I am praying and determined the rest of the week go well. I look forward to my first official weigh in at the end of the week to see what progress I have made. Please continue to pray for me on this journey. So far, I think God has been at my side by having me not really feel the need for coffee all that much. I’m actually a little burned out on it. IMAGINE THAT! That’s actually a miracle! I want it every so often, but I’m really enjoying my hot tea as an alternative. Next I would love to not crave chocolate, sweets, or any other junk food. I know a detox would help with that, but I currently don’t have the means. Maybe in the near future I will get to. But now is not the right time, unfortunately. 

I really appreciate all my friends and family cheering me along with my progress. I hope I will be able to make more friends in the process. I have been inspired and hope to inspire others :). Until next time, God bless.

 

Leave a Reply

